Diakonie Hamburg

International Networking

Diaconal social service network: Linking social work across borders

Social welfare partnerships link social welfare in Hamburg with issues that involve international collaboration. The local social welfare programs that the Diakonische Werk Hamburg and its member organizations have been providing for years are gaining international dimensions. Such programs focus on aid to the homeless, immigration work and nursing care. These particular areas make it clear that internal migration in the EU has significantly influenced social welfare work by adding new target groups, making it necessary to adjust existing programs. The Diakonische Werk’s mission to reduce poverty and its commitment to human rights has gained a focus that goes beyond local aid to include the international community.

Transnational networks of stakeholders from both civil society and government organizations need to improve their understanding of local situations and facilitate opportunities for international aid and collaboration.

The Diakonische Werk Hamburg can call upon partnerships that already exist with sister cities (such as Saint Petersburgand Dar es Salaam), and the transnational partnership work by Bread for the World.


 

Guiding Principles of International Networking

The Diakonische Werk Hamburg’s principles for diaconal social service partnerships: Human rights-oriented, long-term, cross-border.


Sister Cities

The Diakonische Werk Hamburg is involved in partnerships with Hamburg’s Sister Cities Saint Petersburg and Dar es Salaam. In Russia our social services focus on the homeless in Saint Petersburg. For the Sister City partnership with Dar es Salaam in Tanzania, we operate a cooperation desk, an information point for ...

Networking Social Work Across Borders

The expansion of the European Union to the east has caused a rise in circular and repeat migration. Neither social services here nor in the countries of origin are prepared to deal with this new type of movement. It calls for cross-border collaboration between aid services.

Diakonie Hamburg

Internationale Vernetzung

Netzwerk Diakonie: Soziale Arbeit länderübergreifend verknüpfen

Diakonische Partnerschaftsarbeit verknüpft Soziale Arbeit in Hamburg mit Fragen internationaler Zusammenarbeit: Lokale sozialdiakonische Angebote, die seit langem im Diakonischen Werk Hamburg und seinen Mitgliedseinrichtungen vorgehalten werden, haben zunehmend auch eine internationale Dimension. Das zeigt sich im Bereich der Wohnungslosenhilfe, der Migrationsarbeit oder im Bereich der Pflege. Gerade in diesen Arbeitsfeldern wird deutlich, dass die EU-Binnenwanderung erheblichen Einfluss auf die Soziale Arbeit hat, denn es kommen neue Zielgruppen, auf die sich die Angebote einstellen müssen. Damit haben Armutsbekämpfung und der Einsatz für Menschenrechte für die Diakonie nicht nur eine lokale Dimension, sondern stehen auch in einem globalen Zusammenhang.

Das Verständnis der unterschiedlichen Situationen vor Ort, Möglichkeiten der Hilfestellung und der Kooperation sollen durch länderübergreifende Netzwerke zivilgesellschaftlicher und staatlicher Akteure ermöglicht und gestärkt werden.

Das Diakonische Werk Hamburg greift dabei auf langjährig bestehende Kooperationen im Bereich der Städtepartnerschaften zurück (z.B. mit Sankt Petersburg und Dar es Salaam) und auf die Zusammenarbeit mit der transnationalen diakonischen Institution Brot für die Welt.


 

Leitgedanken der Internationalen Vernetzung

An den Menschenrechten orientiert, verbindlich und länderübergreifend: Das sind die Grundsätze der sozialdiakonischen Partnerschaftsarbeit des Diakonischen Werkes Hamburg.

Städtepartnerschaften

Das Diakonische Werk Hamburg engagiert sich im Rahmen der Städtepartnerschaften der Hansestadt in Sankt Petersburg und Dar es Salaam. Im russischen Sankt Petersburg steht die Arbeit mit Wohnungslosen im Vordergrund, in der tansanischen Hauptstadt Dar es Salaam das Thema Gesundheit.

Grenzübergreifende Soziale Arbeit

Durch die Osterweiterung der Europäischen Union hat die Pendel- und zirkulären Migration zugenommen. Weder die Sozialberatungen hier noch in den Herkunftsländern sind auf diese neue Form der Mobilität vorbereitet. Sie erfordert grenzüberschreitende Kooperationen der Hilfesysteme.